Special Treatment — 111810

You’ve been reading in ElderBlog about Mom’s recent trips for winter clothing.  I view clothing as a necessity.  She also enjoys a couple of goodies which could also be viewed the same way: prunes and Activia, both of which  are purchased for her at Costco.  If you’re thinking ‘there’s a common purpose for these two products’, you would be right.  It’s a bit more than that, though: it’s having something different than the usual dietary fare offered at Piedmont Place; something a little special and not commonly available to others.

Well, we filled Mom’s little refrigerator with Activia today and then I got on her phone and called AARP.  The organization needed Mom’s verbal authorization to talk with me about certain administrative matters.  AARP being such a large thing,  it took nearly thirty minutes to make my way through the maze (including waiting time).  I knew it would be this way, so my frustration burners were set to ‘off.’  Mom gave her authorization, (“Of course I do!,” she said to the nice lady on the phone), and I was in business.  This will result in more paperwork for me to fill out.  Another fun weekend.

At issue is the supplemental hospitalization benefit Pop paid into for many years.  In turn, the policy paid an amount back to him for each day that he or Mom spent in the hospital.  It’s proven itself to be quite worthwhile over the years, and I want to ensure that this policy remains intact.  As of today, I know it is.

When Pop died in August, their two-bed Assisted Living room became a two-bed Assisted Living room with only one bed occupied: by Mom.  She’s luxuriating in it, loves her privacy and the quiet that goes with not having a roommate, and prays each day that it will continue this way for a long time to come.  While there are a number of AL beds available to fill before Piedmont Place may need the bed in Mom’s room, she and I are not unrealistic: this privilege could change at any time.

Next Thursday is Thanksgiving, and Mom and my Baby Sister, Elizabeth, will join Lisa and me for a traditional dinner.  (You may recall last year when Mom and Pop both opted for liver and fried onions.  Blechh!)  No doubt there will be stories to tell then, if not sooner.

About FredMarx

Old enough to have wisdom; young enough to learn.
This entry was posted in Living life at old age. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Special Treatment — 111810

  1. Elizabeth Marx says:

    Who’s to say that liver and onions is not on the menu this year too?! YUMMMMMY

Comments are closed.