A happy contraction; an embarrassing retraction — 010211

I’ll tell two stories today.  The retraction will come last in the hope that you won’t get that far.  I’ll even throw in some pictures to distract you.

It’s been a long time coming, but Mom is about to get a roommate.  She’s resigned to losing her privacy and wishes it didn’t have to be so.  Piedmont Place’s administrator and I came upon the same thought a couple of weeks ago: since Mom is full-pay now, why not put her in a private room at little extra cost?  A nice room was available across from the present room.  It’s smaller than the present space and there was some concern that Mom would feel claustrophobic.  But after talking with her and my sister and brother, the decision was made to make the move.

So Friday and yesterday were spent hauling the furniture and possessions over to the new room with Mom, Lisa and I having to decide where things should go.  It was a long and exhausting process for all of us, but it got done.  I talked with Mom early today.  She slept without interruption from nine last night to eight-thirty this morning, and she absolutely loves the place.  “It’s wonderful !”

"Welcome to my new home."

 

"...including my own private SHOWER. Hallelujah !!!"

"I have everything I need..."

—–

I recently wrote about the rumor chain and how it makes something out of nothing.  In this case, the ‘something’ was being passed among the patients who believed that Piedmont Place was about to undergo an ownership and name change.  I chased down a couple of mid-level staffers who scoffed.  I took that to mean that the notion was a rumor, indeed.

Lisa and I walked into PP on Friday to find a sign at the reception desk indicating that Piedmont Place is changing its name effective January first.  “Hmm,” I thought.  “Might there be some truth to the rumor?”

I found the administrator in her office yesterday (yes, she was working on New Year’s day) and asked her about the change.  She explained that headquarters was changing the structure of the corporation to limit liability.  Now, headquarters is its own company which manages fifty-two facilities across the state.  The difference is that headquarters no longer owns these facilities.  Each facility is its own corporation now, so if a facility is ever sued, the liability of the suit would be limited to the assets of that single facility, not the entire corporation.

Each of the facilities were given new names to make the break from the old structure absolute.  There are no personnel or organizational changes at all.  As for the mid-level staffers, they apparently didn’t understand the need for such a reorg, and their scoffing was merely a display of embarrassment.

Lessons learned?  1) If you want the straight skinny, go to the top.  And 2) don’t discount the knowledge shared by dementia patients out of hand.

It’s a humbling way to start a new year.

—–

P.S.  For the purposes of this blog, I will continue to refer to the facility as ‘Piedmont Place,’ a fictitious name to begin with.  It is used to protect the privacy of its residents, and to give me the unfettered ability to criticize it, should that ever be necessary.  Fortunately, Piedmont Place and its hard-working staff deserve the highest compliments and appreciation for the way they love and treat my mother.

About FredMarx

Old enough to have wisdom; young enough to learn.
This entry was posted in Living life at old age and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.