Progress update — 042811

Mom is doing better.  Much better.  She is dressing (slowly) every morning.  Her Physical and Occupational therapists tell me every day that she’s giving rehab her best effort.  In addition, Mom’s back to walking around Piedmont Place without help or restriction.  She’s going very slowly and is sticking within reaching distance of the wall railings, but she’s walking.  Everybody’s really glad to see her again.

The last of the IV-delivered meds will be administered this Sunday night.  After that, the PICC Line can be removed from Mom’s arm.  Then the only remaining hurdle is the sign-off by PT and OT.  That could take place late next week.  When it does, Mom will be back in her comfortable environment, surrounded by the things she loves and back in the hands of the people who take such good care of her.

I’ve mentioned in the past few weeks that Mom has been having hallucinations.  I have not shared most of them in ElderBlog because they’re quite disturbing.  Of one, she said that she had “graduated summa cum laude in suffering.”  Of another, she said she’d been privileged to experience something no other mortal human has ever experienced.

Mom says she didn’t sleep last night (despite two knock-out drugs) because she’d had another aberrant (my word) experience.  She told me about it and asked, “Do you understand?”  She repeated the question.  After careful thought, I would only say that some things weren’t meant to be understood by others and that the memory of this experience would be special exclusively to her.

But I do understand both last night’s experience and the issue overall.  Mom’s long-term memory remains strong.  Her physical being improves by the day.  But her dementia is taking a dramatic turn for the worse.  She doesn’t know this, of course.  She even went to the trouble of saying that she isn’t hallucinating.  How did that word come up in her thinking?  I hadn’t said it.

I’ve come to realize that my lifelong default mindset is that Mom tells the truth.  This is why I struggle with the dementia; this is why I have to work hard to filter fact from fiction.  Any outsider would see the reality clearly; I have to work at it.

About FredMarx

Old enough to have wisdom; young enough to learn.
This entry was posted in Living life at old age and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.